Author Topic: What Updates Can I Expect  (Read 7970 times)

Offline RKillins

What Updates Can I Expect
« on: October 15, 2014, 03:16:39 AM »
I am new to Topcat and am in the process of learning the ropes for its effective use. I downloaded and applied my key to the Topcat v.2.74beta version. In the general options, I have chose to receive notification of updates.

1. With my license, am I eligible for free updates when they become available, or will ongoing purchases be necessary. When 2.74 leaves it's beta phase, will I be entitled to the final release?

2. I see there is an "Airport and Runway" database? Is this updated on occassion? How do we know when these updates, if any, are available. The user manual doesn't have much to say about updates.

Offline wivsteve

Re: What Updates Can I Expect
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2014, 02:21:48 PM »
HI.

My opinion on this product is that it is a waste of money.  I purchased it earlier this year without checking out the forums. If you look there are many dissatisfied customers like me.
No updates and lots of excuses.  If the software is designed so that to add an aircraft requires a major rewrite then the design is bad.  I might have purchased PFPX but my experience with topcat means I will NOT bother.  I am already seeing posts about the Airbus 318/19 asking for an update... and all the usual excuses.

If they take peoples hard earned money they should provide a service.

Offline PatrickM

« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2014, 02:48:39 PM »
And like everywhere, disappointed people cry louder than happy people..

Updates for TOPCAT are free. The runway database is there to update runway lengths, runway entries/exits.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen/kind regards
Patrick

Offline wivsteve

« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2014, 06:51:57 PM »
You are correct that updates appear to be free.

I have topcat configured for auto updates when ever I load it?.

Software was updated 9/09/2013.
runways is dated 21/01/2011.